UN Adds 21 Animals To Its Endangered Species List


David Goodhue – AHN Reporter

Miami, FL (AHN) – The United Nations added 21 animals to its endangered species list.

The list includes the Irrawaddy dolphin, the cheetah and the Egyptian vulture.

The list was created by representatives of 100 governments and 70 non-governmental organizations who met in Rome last week.

Several species of whale and dolphin were placed on the list for the first time, as well as four species of shark, which the UN’s Conservation of Migratory Species and Wild Animals says signifies a need for better fishing regulations.

The purpose of the organization is to develop conservation measures for endangered species that cross international borders.

The CMS also adopted resolutions aimed at reducing marine noise pollution, which it says endangers whales, dolphins and other sea life.


1 Comment

Filed under animals, biodiversity, conservation, endangered, environment, environmentalism, extinction, nature, wildlife, zoology

One response to “UN Adds 21 Animals To Its Endangered Species List

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s